Maricopa Emergency Management System Alert

CORONAVIRUS (COVID-19) UPDATE – CAMPUS CLOSED FOR IN-PERSON SERVICES:   Summer 2020 courses are being conducted in an online or remote education format. Please check my.maricopa.edu for specifics regarding your classes, or contact the course instructor for information about the online or remote education opportunities. Updated - July 16, 2020

Enroll for Fall 2020  |  Learning Options  |  Online Services  |  Return to Campus Plan  |  CARES Act Emergency Funds

Academic Calendar

The dates listed below which are directly related to instruction refer to the traditional academic year. Some courses may be offered over time periods for which these dates are not applicable. Most dates are based on the Maricopa County Community College District Academic Calendar and are subject to change without notice.

*Please note that all Online classes start on a Monday.


SUMMER SEMESTER – 2020 (Note: Subject to the 2020-2021 Catalog)
Tue May 26 Summer Semester Begins
Mon-Wed Jun 29-Jul 1 Summer Break for Clock Hour Programs Only
Thur Jul 2 Observance of Independence Day
Thur Jul 30 Summer Semester Ends

FALL SEMESTER – 2020
Fri Aug 14 First Day of Faculty Accountability
Sat Aug 22 Classes Begin
Mon Sep 7 Observance of Labor Day
Mon Sep 21 Find a Class Opens for Spring
Mon Oct 5 Spring 2021 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
Sat+ Oct 10 Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon++ Oct 12 Student Withdrawal with Instructors Signature Begins
Mon Oct 12 Spring 2021 Open Registration Begins
* Application for December 2020 Graduation
Wed Nov 11 Observance of Veterans Day
Thur-Sun Nov 26-29 Thanksgiving Holiday (Campus Closed)
Sun Dec 13 Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thur** Dec 14-17 Final Exams
Fri Dec 18 Mid-Year Recess Begins for Students
Fri Dec 18 Fall Semester Ends (Last day of Faculty Accountability)
Fri-Sun Dec 25-Jan 3 Mid-Year Recess (Campus Closed)

SPRING SEMESTER – 2021
Fri Jan 1 Observance of New Year’s Day
Mon Jan 11 First day of Faculty Accountability
Mon Jan 11 Clock Hour Student Classes Begin
Sat Jan 16 Classes Begin
Mon Jan 18 Observance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
Mon Feb 15 Observance of Presidents' Day
Tue Feb 16 Find a Class Opens for Summer/Fall 2021
Mon Mar 1 Summer/Fall 2021 Priority Registration for Currently Enrolled Students
* Application for May 2021 Graduation
Sat+ Mar 6 Last Day for Withdrawal without Instructor's Signature
Mon++ Mar 8 Student Withdrawal with Instructors Signature Begins
Mon-Sun Mar 15-21 Spring Break
Mon Mar 15 Summer/Fall 2021 Open Registration Begins
Sun May 9 Last Day of Classes
Mon-Thur** May 10-13 Final Exams
Thur-Fri May 13 or 14 Commencement
Fri May 14 Spring Semester Ends (Last day of Faculty Accountability)
Mon May 31 Observance of Memorial Day

* For specific information concerning the last day to apply for graduation, individual class start dates, and final exams, consult the college of enrollment.
** Any classes meeting on Friday, Saturday or Sunday will have final examinations during their regular class time.
+ Through the 7th week, student may initiate an official withdrawal from course(s) without instructor signature (see Appendix S-7 in Catalog Common Pages).
++ After the 7th week, student must initiate an official withdrawal request from instructor and obtain their signature (see Appendix S-7 in Catalog Common Pages).