Image for science-0 page

Professional Scientist Preparation Program

 

What is PSP2?

The Professional Scientist Preparation Program (PSP2) is designed to prepare students in the Maricopa Community Colleges for application to professional school in the health and science occupations including but not limited to: medical doctor (MD/DO), pharmacist, physician's assistant, dentist, physical therapist, research scientist, etc.


Who can participate?

Any community college student who:
  • Is interested in a career in the sciences
  • Has a minimum college GPA of 3.2
  • Has completed at least 8 credit hours in college level lab science

Why should I apply?

Participants who participate in all PSP2 activities and successfully complete the program:
  • May increase their chances of being admitted to professional school
  • Receive individualized educational and career mentoring from outstanding PVCC faculty
  • Have an increased awareness of resources and information related to their goals and career choice

Where do I apply?

Click here to download the PSPP application form.

 

When is the application due?

The application deadline for the Spring 2016-Fall 2016 cycle is Friday, February 19, 2016.

 

How does the program work?

Once selected, students complete a series of activities designed to prepare them for successful admission to professional schools, including:
  • Career testing and counseling
  • Critical-thinking assessment
  • Personal statement writing workshop
  • Interview skills workshops
  • Mock interviews for professional school
  • Identification of scholarship resources

When do activities take place?

Students selected for the program attend an orientation in the Spring and participate in a number of workshops/activities during the late spring and early fall semesters.  For a schedule of events, see below.

 

Where are activities held?

All sessions are held at PVCC main campus.

 

How much does it cost?

Attendance is free to Maricopa Community College students. Reasonable costs are assessed for career testing.

 

How can I learn more about PSP2?

For further information contact Dr. Scott Massey, Science Division Chair at (602) 787-6644 or scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu.

 


 

Spring 2016 Schedule of Events:

Listed below is the schedule of events for the Spring 2016 semester:

  • Friday, March 4, 2016, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Orientation and Critical Thinking Workshop Part I (located in room LS-206)
  • Friday, March 25, 2016, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM, Critical Thinking Workshop Part II (located in room TBD)
  • Friday, April 15, 2016, Critical Thinking Essay Due Date (no meeting)
  • Friday, April 22, 2016, Occupational Profile Due Date
  • Friday, April 22, 2016, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM, Personal Statement Workshop (located in room TBD)
 

Fall 2016 Schedule of Events:

Listed below is the schedule of events for the Fall 2016 semester:
  • Friday, September 9, 2016, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Interviewing for Professional School/Midwestern Representative (located in room TBD)
  • Friday, September 16, 2016, Time TBD, Mock Interviews (located in room LS-Conference Room)
  • Friday, September 23, 2016, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM, Mock Interviews-Critique (located in room LS-206)
  • Friday, September 30, 2016, 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM, Personal Statement Workshop (Repeat session for those who could not attend the workshop on April 22, 2016) (located in room TBD)

 


 

PSPCommittee Members:

 

Dr. Scott Massey

Science Division, Chemistry Faculty & Science Division Chair
602.787.6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu

 

Dr. Casey Durandet

Science Division, Physics Faculty
602.787.6651
casey.durandet@paradisevalley.edu
 

Dr. Harry Birkmann

Science Division, Geology Faculty
602.787.6820
harry.birkmann@paradisevalley.edu
 

Prof. Paul Cornell

Mathematics Division, Mathematics Faculty
602.787.7914
paul.cornell@paradisevalley.edu
 

Prof. Renee Cornell

English Division, English Faculty
602.787.6566
renee.cornell@paradisevalley.edu
 

Dr. Marianne Roccaforte

Counseling Division, Counseling Faculty
602.787.7158
marianne.roccaforte@paradisevalley.edu

 

Prof. Jennifer Weitz

Science Division, Astronomy Faculty
602.787.6818
jennifer.weitz@paradisevalley.edu
 

 

2016 PSP2 Students:

 
 Cameron Allen, Pre-PA

Marian Assad, Pre-Pharm

Geremy Cites, Microbiology/Biology Research

Kesha Dennis-Mohler, Pre-Med

Shima Golshan, Pre-Med/OBGYN

Edgar Hermosillo, Health Sciences

Shannon Hogan, Molecular Biology Research

Chelsea Rendleman, Pre-Pharm

Courtney Scott, Pre-Pharm

Nadia Zia, Pre-Dental

 

2015 PSP2 Students:

 
Devin Cameron
 
Caleb Case  "PSP2 and its staff provides priceless preparation and support, giving its members the tools and ability to showcase their academic and social strengths when it counts."
 
Julia Cornella
 
Matthew Jones
 
Connor Maloney
 
Destynee Olson
 
Jordan Stephens

 

What Some Former PSP2 Students are Doing:

 

Asal Abdulahad - Midwestern University - Pharmacist, Walgreens

Athena Parmenter - Midwestern University - Pharmacist, Women's International Pharmacy

Cayman Martin - Chief Scribe at Scribe America

Chad Wahlgren - University of Colorado Health Sciences - Pharmacist, Walgreens

Chris Simopoulos - Southern CA School of Optometry - Optometrist

Daniel Linville - Regis University, Pharm D - Graduate Intern at CVS

Devin Cameron - University of Arizona - Pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Astrophysics

Eara Betts Gonclaves - Catholic University of America - Pursuing Master's degree in Library Science

Emily Hanka - Pre-Med at University of Arizona

Inna Arzumanova - Midwestern University

Jacquelyn Howe - Midwestern University - Independent Contractor, Pharmacist, Clinical Pharmacist

Jena Cross - Midwestern University

Jill Berger - University of Arizona - Emergency Physician Scribe

Joseph Kelly - ASU, BS Genetics, Cell/Dev Bio - Day Trader/Uber Driver

Marjan Behbahani - Pharmacist, CVS

Mark Gravill - Electrician, Wilson Electric Services Corp.

Matt Gamber - Midwestern University - Pharmacist, CVS

Mehal Shah - Sullivan University - Pharmacist, Fry's

Michelle Sachau - University of Phoenix - District Manager, Hi-Health Corp.

Robert Boehland - Palmer College of Chiropractic - Dr. of Chiropractic at his own practice, Cornerstone Family Chiropractic in Prescott

Sarah Hoffman - Ohio University - Registered Nurse, Abrazo Health

Sarah Kalkbrenner - A.T. Still University of Health Sciences - Physician Assistant, Banner Pediatric Specialists

Soureth Rayis - CA North State U of Pharmacy 

Stephanie Harris - University of Phoenix - Advisor, Network Account Management at CVS

Yulia Streltsova - ASU-Chemical Engineering - Undergrad Researcher

 

 

 

Contact Us

Science Division
G Building
(602) 787-6631


Life Sciences
Life Sciences Building
(602) 787-6940


Science Division Chair & Physical Science Department Chair
Dr. Scott Massey
G 114 (602) 787-6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu


Life Science Department Chair
Jeffrey Lace
LS 215 (602) 787-7913
jeffrey.lace@paradisevalley.edu

Staff

Full Time Faculty

Debra Adair, Biology
LS 212 (602) 787-7822
debra.adair@paradisevalley.edu

Satinder Bains, Chemistry
J133 (602) 787-6586
satinder.bains@paradisevalley.edu

Harry Birkmann, Geology
G 101 (602) 787-6820
harry.birkmann@paradisevalley.edu

Jaimee Corbet, Biology
LS 211 (602) 787-6784
jaimee.corbet@paradisevalley.edu

Jim Doyle, Biology
LS 213 (602) 787-6591
jim.doyle@paradisevalley.edu

Casey Durandet, Physics
G 109 (602) 787-6651
casey.durandet@paradisevalley.edu

Jon Hayashi, Biology
LS 218 (602) 787-6827
jon.hayashi@paradisevalley.edu

Jeffrey Hoyt, Biology
LS 210 (602) 787-7419
jeffrey.hoyt@paradisevalley.edu

Jeffrey Lace, Biology, LS Department Chair
LS 215 (602) 787-7913
jeffrey.lace@paradisevalley.edu

Lynn Lalko, Chemistry
G 106 (602) 787-6640
lynn.lalko@paradisevalley.edu

Anthony Lamanna, Biology
LS 219 (602) 787-6643
anthony.lamanna@paradisevalley.edu

Scott Massey, Chemistry, Science Division Chair
G 114 (602) 787-6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu

Julie Olander, Chemistry
G 113  (602) 787-7306
julie.olander@paradisevalley.edu

Lynda Santiago, Biology
G 112 (602) 787-6648
lynda.santiago@paradisevalley.edu

Jennifer Weitz, Astronomy
G 108 (602) 787-6818
jennifer.weitz@paradisevalley.edu

 

Staff

Nicolle Brodie, Division Secretary
G 128 (602) 787-6631
nicolle.brodie@paradisevalley.edu

Curtis Chambers, Laboratory Technician
H 118 (602) 787-7889
curtis.chambers@paradisevalley.edu

Roger Roberts, Laboratory Technician
LS 113 (602) 787-6637
roger.roberts@paradisevalley.edu

David Hellman, Laboratory Technician
G 150 (602) 787-6685
david.hellman@paradisevalley.edu

John Jones, Laboratory Coordinator
LS 112 (602) 787-6638
john.jones@paradisevalley.edu

Marina Shal, Laboratory Technician
LS 113 (602) 787-7428
marina.shal@paradisevalley.edu

Cindy Nicoloff, Life Sciences Secretary
LS 207 (602) 787-6940
cindy.nicoloff@paradisevalley.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Kelly Alderman, Biology
kelly.alderman@paradisevalley.edu

Jaminelli Banks, Biology
jaminelli.banks@paradisevalley.edu

Darra Browning, Biology
darra.kresge@paradisevalley.edu

Greg Cohen, Chemistry
greg.cohen@paradisevalley.edu

Chuck Crawford, Astronomy
oscar.crawford@paradisevalley.edu

Annie Deutsch, Biology
anna.deutsch@paradisevalley.edu

Brian England, Engineering
brian.england@paradisevalley.edu

Rashad Erakat, Biology
rashad.erakat@paradisevalley.edu

Robert Ewing, Astronomy
robert.ewing@paradisevalley.edu

Stephan George, Biology
stephan.george@paradisevalley.edu

MaryK Geyer, Biology
maryk.geyer@paradisevalley.edu

Jayme Gillen, Biology
jayme.gillen@paradisevalley.edu

Manal Hammoud, Biology
manal.hammoud@paradisevalley.edu

Charles King, Chemistry
charles.king@paradisevalley.edu

Subha Krishnan, Chemistry
subha.krishnan@paradisevalley.edu

Richard Marx, Biology
richard.marx@paradisevalley.edu

Sherri Moore, Biology
sherri.moore@paradisevalley.edu

Tiffany Naughton, Biology
tiffany.naughton@paradisevalley.edu

Charles Pace, Chemistry
charles.pace@paradisevalley.edu

Pat Pomphrey, Physics
pat.pomphrey@paradisevalley.edu

Hannah Phipps - Yonas, Biology
hannah.phipps@paradisevalley.edu

Sadie Puerner, Chemistry
saide.puerner@paradisevalley.edu

Alan Putzke, Biology
alan.putzke@paradisevalley.edu

Carson Robertson, Biology
carson.robertson@paradisevalley.edu

Don Robinson, Geology
dob.robinson@paradisevalley.edu

Anne Shaw, Biology
anne.shaw@paradisevalley.edu

William Sherry, Astronomy
william.sherry@paradisevalley.edu

Jeff Simpson, Geology
jeff.simpson@paradisevalley.edu

Linda Stearns, Chemistry
linda.stearns@paradisevalley.edu

Sara Stollar-Yates, Biology
sara.stollar@paradisevalley.edu

Mike Swingler, Physics
mike.swingler@paradisevalley.edu

Amy Terlisner, Biology
amy.terlisner@paradisevalley.edu

Tatjana Thomas, Biology
tatjana.thomas@paradisevalley.edu

James Valente, Biology
james.valente@paradisevalley.edu

Syd Wilson, Engineering
syd.wilson@paradisevalley.edu

The college of you.