Image for science-0 page

Professional Scientist Preparation Program

What is PSP2?

The Professional Scientist Preparation Program (PSP2) is designed to prepare students in the Maricopa Community Colleges for application to professional school in the health and science occupations including but not limited to: medical doctor (MD/DO), pharmacist, physician's assistant, dentist, physical therapist, research scientist, etc.

 

Who can participate?

Any community college student who:
  • Is interested in a career in the sciences
  • Has a minimum college GPA of 3.2
  • Has completed at least 8 credit hours in college level lab science

Why should I apply?

Participants who participate in all PSP2 activities and successfully complete the program:
  • May increase their chances of being admitted to professional school
  • Receive individualized educational and career mentoring from outstanding PVCC faculty
  • Have an increased awareness of resources and information related to their goals and career choice

How does the program work?

Once selected, students complete a series of activities designed to prepare them for successful admission to professional schools, including:
  • Career testing and counseling
  • Critical-thinking assessment
  • Personal statement writing workshop
  • Interview skills workshops
  • Mock interviews for professional school
  • Identification of scholarship resources

When do activities take place?

Students selected for the program attend an orientation in the Spring and participate in a number of workshops/activities during the late spring and early fall semesters.  For a schedule of events, see below.

 

Where are activities held?

All sessions are held at PVCC main campus.

 

How much does it cost?

Attendance is free to Maricopa Community College students. Reasonable costs are assessed for career testing.

 

How can I learn more about PSP2?

For further information contact Dr. Scott Massey, Science Division Chair at (602) 787-6644 or scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu.

 


 

Spring 2015 Schedule of Events:

TBD
 

Fall 2015 Schedule of Events:

TBD

 


 

PSPCommittee Members:

 

Dr. Scott Massey

Science Division, Chemistry Faculty & Science Division Chair
602.787.6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu

 

Dr. Casey Durandet

Science Division, Physics Faculty
602.787.6651
casey.durandet@paradisevalley.edu
 

Dr. Harry Birkmann

Science Division, Geology Faculty
602.787.6820
harry.birkmann@paradisevalley.edu
 

Prof. Paul Cornell

Mathematics Division, Mathematics Faculty
602.787.7914
paul.cornell@paradisevalley.edu
 

Prof. Renee Cornell

English Division, English Faculty
602.787.6566
renee.cornell@paradisevalley.edu
 

Dr. Marianne Roccaforte

Counseling Division, Counseling Faculty
602.787.7158
marianne.roccaforte@paradisevalley.edu

 

Prof. Jennifer Weitz

Science Division, Astronomy Faculty
602.787.6818
jennifer.weitz@paradisevalley.edu
 

 

2014 Students

 
Cayman Martin
Pre-med

 

Cathryn Vernon
Pre-PA

 

Chad Michael Dexter
Pre-pharm

 

Matthew Kassir
Pre-PT

 

David Ernest
Pre-PA

 

Sean Quach
Pre-pharm

 

George “Mike” Day
Pre-PT

 

Sarah Hoffman
Pre-PA

 

Evan Entze
Pre-dental

 

Emily Hanka
Pre-med
 

 

 

 

 

Contact Us

Science Division
G Building
(602) 787-6631


Life Sciences
Life Sciences Building
(602) 787-6940


Science Division Chair
Dr. Scott Massey
G 114 (602) 787-6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu

Staff

Full Time Faculty

Debra Adair, Biology
LS 212 (602) 787-7822
debra.adair@paradisevalley.edu

Dr. Satinder Bains, Chemistry
J133 (602) 787-6586
satinder.bains@paradisevalley.edu

Harry Birkmann, Geology
G 101 (602) 787-6820
harry.birkmann@paradisevalley.edu

Jaimee Corbet, Biology
LS 211 (602) 787-6784
jaimee.corbet@paradisevalley.edu

Jim Doyle, Biology
LS 213 (602) 787-6591
jim.doyle@paradisevalley.edu

Casey Durandet, Physics
G 109 (602) 787-6651
casey.durandet@paradisevalley.edu

Jeffrey Hoyt, Biology
LS 210 (602) 787-7419
jeffrey.hoyt@paradisevalley.edu

Jon Hayashi, Biology
LS 218 (602) 787-6827
jon.hayashi@paradisevalley.edu

Jeffrey Lace, Biology
LS 215 (602) 787-7913
jeffrey.lace@paradisevalley.edu

Lynn Lalko, Chemistry
G 106 (602) 787-6640
lynn.lalko@paradisevalley.edu

Anthony Lamanna, Biology
LS 219 (602) 787-6643
anthony.lamanna@paradisevalley.edu

Scott Massey, Chemistry, Science Division Chair
G 114 (602) 787-6644
scott.massey@paradisevalley.edu

Lynda Santiago, Biology
G 112 (602) 787-6648
lynda.santiago@paradisevalley.edu

Jennifer Weitz, Astronomy
G 108 (602) 787-6818
jennifer.weitz@paradisevalley.edu

Julie Olander, Chemistry
G 113  (phone ext. is not yet determined)
julie.olander@paradisevalley.edu

 

Staff

Curtis Chambers, Laboratory Technician
H 118 (602) 787-7889
curtis.chambers@paradisevalley.edu

Melissa Durfee, Laboratory Technician
LS 113 (602) 787-6637
melissa.durfee@paradisevalley.edu

David Hellman, Laboratory Technician
G 150 (602) 787-6685
david.hellman@paradisevalley.edu

John Jones, Laboratory Coordinator
LS 112 (602) 787-6638
john.jones@paradisevalley.edu

Marina Shal, Laboratory Technician
LS 113 (602) 787-7428
marina.shal@paradisevalley.edu

Cindy Nicoloff, Life Sciences Secretary
LS 207 (602) 787-6940
cindy.nicoloff@paradisevalley.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Kelly Alderman, Biology
kelly.alderman@paradisevalley.edu

Jaminelli Banks, Biology
jaminelli.banks@paradisevalley.edu

Darra Browning, Biology
darra.kresge@paradisevalley.edu

Greg Cohen, Chemistry
greg.cohen@paradisevalley.edu

Brian England, Engineering
brian.england@paradisevalley.edu

Robert Ewing, Astronomy
robert.ewing@paradisevalley.edu

Roy Fuller, Geology
roy.fuller@paradisevalley.edu

Stephan George, Biology
stephan.george@paradisevalley.edu

Jayme Gillen, Biology
jayme.gillen@paradisevalley.edu

Charles King, Chemistry
charles.king@paradisevalley.edu

Richard Marx, Biology
richard.marx@paradisevalley.edu

Tiffany Naughton, Biology
tiffany.naughton@paradisevalley.edu

Charles Pace, Chemistry
charles.pace@paradisevalley.edu

Hannah Phipps - Yonas, Biology
hannah.phipps@paradisevalley.edu

Sadie Puerner, Chemistry
saide.puerner@paradisevalley.edu

Alan Putzke, Biology
alan.putzke@paradisevalley.edu

Carson Robertson, Biology
carson.robertson@paradisevalley.edu

Don Robinson, Geology
dob.robinson@paradisevalley.edu

William Sherry, Astronomy
william.sherry@paradisevalley.edu

Jeff Simpson, Geology
jeff.simpson@paradisevalley.edu

Linda Stearns, Chemistry
linda.stearns@paradisevalley.edu

Sara Stollar-Yates, Biology
sara.stollar@paradisevalley.edu

Mike Swingler, Physics
mike.swingler@paradisevalley.edu

Amy Terlisner, Biology
amy.terlisner@paradisevalley.edu

Tatjana Thomas, Biology
tatjana.thomas@paradisevalley.edu

James Valente, Biology
james.valente@paradisevalley.edu

Syd Wilson, Engineering
syd.wilson@paradisevalley.edu

Alissa Wooden, Biology
alissa.wooden@paradisevalley.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

The college of you.